COMMENTARY

Ahhhhhh where do I even begin with this one? Seriously, I don't even remember much from that time... Anyways, the Kitty set has been out for a good while and something about Mizuki's visible undershirt straps made me think "hmmmm.... but what if it was a croptop that resembles a sports bra?", and after pairing with my desparation to make *something* i took my old notebook, looked up a ref, and started sketching.

The vibe that i wanted to get for this piece was for it to be a thirst trap, emphasizing her cone nips and bulge. I'm not as into the latter, but giving her cone tits is special to me. I personally think that the "Gender -?" Marker that Mizuki is redundant, especially when more focus events about her come out (heh), so choosing to give her a small physical sign of growth is just my way of saying "she's a trans girl, please remember that".

BACKSTORY AND PRODUCTION

Going back to the desparate sketching bit from earlier, I was in a very terrible place mentally that I just couldn't muster up anything to draw. An incident months back put cracks into my mental health before it eventually broke and we were left to pick up ourselves together. My creative output was basically non-functional, only relegated to just hours of self-loathing and punishing myself for putting myself there in the first place.

ANYWAYS. Let's talk PRODUCTION! I got Mizuki's pose from the then-recently revealed Johnny Guilty Gear Strive render because the pose itself is hot as fuckkkkk 😎😎😎. I had to change the posing of her arm from keeping her hat on with her hand, into her taking off the hat because i do NOT want to trouble myself with hands interacting with objects for my return to drawing art. It all worked out in the end because it added on to the theme of "unravelling" which i was definitely going for from the start, with a topless alt as an extra.

there's a couple of firsts here, this being my first Krita piece ever on my first week on Linux. It was also the first time i've implemented underpainting. That said, i was still unfamiliar with my brushes and still very rusty, but the folks are loving the WIPs that i've been posting and that gave me a boost of willpower to finish this piece.

Wanna see how scuffed my process is?

.kra project file download