Commentary

Emu is certainly a specimen... I initially thought of her as a Kokoro-like, both being neurodivergent rich girls who can backflip off of the third floor of a building like it's nothing. They're both part of "Carnival" themed bands and even have their signature catchphrases that sound really cringy at first but two weeks later you, a grown ass adult (hopefully), have co-opted it as a random thing that you also just say whenever. Their similarities in the writing end there, and Emu turns out to be a COMPLETELY different character because she grew up with a family from childhood to present day, thus Emu's antics and mannerisms give off a more ">:D" vibe than Kokoro's ":DD". I don't know if that made sense but you get my point right?

I wanted to do something that shows Emu's little devilish side by her being coy while enticing Nene with her yet-untapped playful dom side, but this is NOT that piece lmao. Maybe in a different EmuNene piece that actually involves Nene in some way other than a passive reacting role. For this one though, I just wanted to do a nonsensical punchline that I totally Did Not Steal™ because Emu WOULD be able to do the kind of silly and mischief that operates on Pinkie Pie logic (THEY ARE LITERALLY THE SAME COLOR).

Production

I based Emu's pose on this picture i found reposted on tumblr of all places. As you can see, i changed the hood of the towel jacket thingy into a regular towel. This was a relatively low-effort piece after all and I didn't feel like spending too much time on the erotic part during a severe art block. The spinning fish gif was added in Kdenlive, since i wasn't also gonna figure out how animations and importing GIFs in Krita work. I did figure out that Kdenlive supports Krita project files by accident so i managed to make a pretty lightweight GIF (3 MB!) with most of the quality intact. Open Source never fails to surprise me.

Wanna see how scuffed my process is?

.kra project file download